I was never one for romcoms. Not that I don’t enjoy the occasional chick flick – believe me, I do. But most of them bore me, because it’s the same old story. Boy meets girl, an obstacle arises, but the in the end they get together and there you have it, happily ever after.

The original Magic Mike was the same. Except that the lead was not your typical cute, funny, rich or very creative and talented guy, but a ripped, hot stripper dude. And instead of tedious work-related scenes, we were treated to some eye-candy in the form of male entertainers doing what they do best.

I have to admit, it was highly entertaining. What hot blooded woman (or gay man) doesn’t want to watch Matthew McConaughey, Channing Tatum, Joe Manganiello et al. writhe on the floor and show off their impressive physique?

But the love story was lacking, and frankly unnecessary.

And then comes Magic Mike XXL.

yowza
yowza

And it’s amazing, because it doesn’t take itself too seriously. Well, not seriously at all. It’s funny, it’s fast-paced, it’s chock-full of good ol’ dancing and stripping, and we’ve quickly done away with the love interest in favor of what it really comes down to: a buddy-movie every single female would love to watch.

The seduction scene in the gas station convenience store was literally water-coming-out-of-my-nose funny. The short drama-filled scene on the beach was not too serious. Matthew McConaughey was absent this time around, but that’s probably for the better. I still have no idea what purpose Kevin Nash served, but I guess the token block of muscle doesn’t have to have too many lines (or any dancing talent), so that’s fine by me.

All in all, an incredibly enjoyable two hours of screen time. Which, sometimes, is all you need.

